CONCEALED CARRY PERMITS (CCW)
CONCEALED CARRY (CCW) PERMITS
Missouri state laws pertaining to Concealed Carry Weapon Permits are subject to change each legislative session. Over the last several years the statutes have changed and could be updated at any time.
• Applications for conceal and carry permits are conveniently available to Montgomery County residents at our office.
GENERAL PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
You must be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States and meet one of the following age requirements:
• At least nineteen (19) years of age; or
• At least eighteen (18) years of age and a member of the United States Armed Forces; or
• At least eighteen (18) years of age and honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces.
• You must be a Montgomery County, Missouri, resident.
ADDITIONAL CITIZENSHIP/RESIDENCY INFORMATION
If you are not a natural born citizen of the United States of America, but have since obtained citizenship you will need to provide proof of your citizenship. Acceptable forms of proof are Naturalization Papers or a United States passport.
If you are a permanent resident of the United States, but not a citizen, you will need to provide a permanent resident card (often called a green card) with the alien or admission number issued by the Federal Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement confirming permanent residency within the United States as proof of permanent residency.
WHERE TO APPLY FOR OR RENEW PERMITS
Applicants from Montgomery County may apply for or renew CCW permits at the location listed below:
Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office
211 E Third Street Suite. 209
Montgomery City Mo. 63361
Monday – Friday 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM
CCW staff are off duty on state and federal holidays; therefore, no applications are accepted on those days.
FIRST TIME APPLICANTS
Applicants may apply by presenting their:
• Completed Application – Application must be completed by the individual obtaining the permit.
• Firearms Safety Training Certificate
• Positive picture identification (ID)
• Proof of current address
• Plus a non-refundable fee – 5-Year Permit: $100.00
Acceptable Payment Methods: Cash or Personal Check
Your fingerprints will be submitted to the Missouri State Highway Patrol for a criminal records check. Applicants will be notified by phone within 45 days regarding approval of their permit. Please allow the full 45 day period to expire before contacting us. Upon notification, applicants may pick up their signed permit at our office.
Please note: Under Missouri state law any felony conviction, including convictions with a suspended imposition of sentence (SIS), will disqualify you from receiving a concealed carry permit.
Applicants should begin the renewal process prior to the expiration of their CCW permit. Renewals can be done up to six months after the permit expires however, late fees will be applied at a rate of $10.00 for each month the applicant is late up to 6 months. If the permit is expired more than six months, the permit is canceled and the applicant must apply for an entirely new permit.
Military personnel who were deployed or on active duty, or were injured and unable to renew, will not be assessed late fees until two months after their return from injury or duty/deployment.
The fee for renewing a permit is $50.00.
You will need:
The renewal fee in the form of cash or check. No $100 bills please.
Your driver’s license or non-driver ID and your current concealed carry permit.
If your name has changed, the permit holder must provide proof of their name change within 30 days to the Sheriff that issued the permit. You will need to bring your current CCW permit and provide documentation of your name change, such as a marriage license/certificate, divorce papers or any other court issued documents showing the name change. A CCW permit may be cancelled if the permit holder has not followed these guidelines. There is a $10 fee for name changes.
If you move away from the county your permit was issued in, you must notify the Sheriff of the new county of residence. To do this bring your current permit and documentation of the new address, this could include an insurance card, tax bill, utility bill, or lease agreement. This must be done within 30 days of establishing the new address. A CCW may be cancelled if the permit holder has not followed these guidelines. There is a $10 fee for an address change.
LOST OR STOLEN CARD
If your CCW permit is lost or stolen, you must come to the sheriff’s office and “furnish a statement” in writing within 7 days. A new permit can then be issued to you. There is a $10 fee for processing a replacement permit.
Any person issued a concealed carry permit shall carry the permit along with a valid government-issued photo ID at all times when carrying a firearm, and shall display the permit and identification upon the request of any peace officer.
A number of other states recognize Missouri CCW permits. However, only the five (5) year renewable permits may be honored in other states. Extended and lifetime permits are not valid outside of Missouri. For a viewing of states that accept Missouri’s CCW permit, please visit the Missouri Attorney General’s Office website. https://ago.mo.gov/criminal-division/public-safety/concealed-carry-reciprocity
WHERE TO FIND GUN LAWS:
Missouri Statute 571 covers all crimes and punishments related to weapons offenses. https://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneChapter.aspx?chapter=571
Section 571.101 covers concealed carry permits, application requirements, approval procedures, issuance of permits, record-keeping requirements, and permit fees. https://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=571.101
FOR MORE INFORMATION CONCERNING CCW LAWS VISIT:
GunLaws.com – An excellent resource with information about conceal and carry laws in all states nationwide. https://www.gunlaws.com/index.htm
Missouri Sheriff’s Association – Frequently Asked Questions about Concealed Carry Laws and links to the applicable Missouri Statutes. https://mosheriffs.com/permits/
CCW Reciprocity – A link to the Missouri Attorney General’s Office who maintains a page detailing which states will honor and which states will not honor a Missouri Concealed Carry Permit. https://www.ago.mo.gov/criminal-division/public-safety/concealed-carry-reciprocity